D-Day

5 Mar

Two years ago today, I was diagnosed with breast cancer.

After hearing the news, I was stunned beyond words. The first person I called at that time was my good friend Theresa. Afraid of scaring people with my loud and uncontrollable sobbing, I sat on a curb at a corner of an open-air car park, telling my friend I have cancer.

I still remember her first words, “Oh shit.” Yup, exactly.

Since then, life has taken a different path. As I cleared out my photo frames in the flat, I looked at old pictures of myself with longer hair, looking like a stranger. Life will never be the same again, and I’m not sure if I want to be the same person again too.

For this special day, we decided to commemorate it with a slice of good chocolate cake and a sparkler, courtesy of the restaurant. Two years on, I’m still here, and that’s surely something to celebrate!

Leave a Reply

